Log in


The ASV is a non-profit society for people interested in Astronomy, attracting and catering for people from a wide range of ages and backgrounds, abilities and interests. First formed in 1922 the society has grown to over one thousand members. Its activities are coordinated by a council of elected Office Bearers, Section Directors, and ordinary Councillors.

The ASV has weekly activities at our two metropolitan locations (Moorleigh Community Village & The Melbourne Observatory) and we host monthly AstroTalks at the Herbarium near the Melbourne Observatory. The society's library is also located at the Melbourne Observatory and is open during our AstroTalks and . For over 50 years the ASV has played a major role in the care of buildings and facilities at the Melbourne Observatory.

Our members conduct Astronomy for the People gatherings throughout the year, bringing telescopes and astronomy to Melbourne's parks and schools. Please check the calendar for details if you are interested in attending one of these events.

The ASV is currently involved in a number of major projects. We are involved in the restoration of the Great Melbourne Telescope and are also currently working on the installation of a series of remote telescopes at our dark sky site which once complete will be accessible to our members for use.

Thanks to a generous donation from one of its most long standing and respected members, the Leon Mow Dark Sky Site, located north of Melbourne, has a pristine night sky for deep sky observing. The ASV has a 25-inch telescope, a 40-inch telescope and a wheelchair accessible 16-inch telescope at the Leon Mow Dark Sky Site and makes use of the existing telescopes at the Melbourne Observatory during some section meetings and our Members night held once a month at the Observatory.

An annual Yearbook is supplied to members as well as a bimonthly newsletter (CRUX) which all members are welcome to contribute to.

The ASV's logo shows the Southern Cross and Pointer stars. Its Motto is "Sic itur ad astra" which is translated as "this way to the stars".

The ASV is governed by a set of rules which should be read before applying for membership. This document may be downloaded by clicking here.

Any person or organisation with an interest in astronomy may apply for membership of the Society. 


Past Presidents

 Year  President  Year  President
 1922 - 1925  C.J. Merfield*  1970  G.A. Duncan*
 1926  J.D. Michie*  1971 - 1972  T.B. Tregaskis*
 1927  P.H. Johson*  1973 - 1974  A.E. Coombs
 1928 - 1933  J. A. Moroney*  1975  A.L. Le Marquand*
 1934  G. H. Woodhouse*  1976  T.B. Tregaskis*
 1935 - 1941  J.A. Moroney*  1977 - 1978  R.J.C. Lawrence*
 1942 - 1944  J.F. Skjellerup*  1979 - 1980  B.S. Adcock
 1945  J.C. Hewitson*  1981 - 1983  D.H. Walker *
 1946  W.N. Brook*  1984 - 1985  B.J. Poppleton*
 1947  J.G. Evans*  1986 - 1987  D.W. Orchiston
 1948 L.T. Whitney *  1988 - 1989  K.McK. Harrison
 1949  V.W. Straford*  1990 - 1991  J.L. Park
 1950  R.G. Gilmour*  1992 - 1993

C.C. Hyde *

 1951  A.W. Walker*  1994 - 1995  S.D. Pattie
 1952  H. Byrt*  1996 - 1998  P. Vlahos
 1953  J.R. Carroll*  1999  T.J. Richards
 1953  J.C. Hewitson*  2000  R.B. Davis
 1954  W.N. Brook*  2001 - 2003  P. Vlahos
 1955 J.P. Hamilton*
 2004 - 2005  B.J. Cleland
 1956  E.L. James*  2006 - 2007  B.S. Adcock
 1957  W.G.H. Tregear*  2008 - 2009  P. Vlahos
 1958  L.R. Whitby*  2010 - 2011  B.S. Adcock
 1959  K.W. Murphy  2012 - 2014  K. J. Le Marquand
 1960 - 1961  J.L. Perdrix*  2015 - 2016  C. Rudge
 1962  L.R. Whitby*  2017 - 2018  P. Vlahos
 1963  W.G.H. Tregear*  2019  Dr. R. Cockman
 1964 - 1966  F.P. Owen*  2019 - 2021  S. Pattie
 1967 - 1968  J.L. Perdrix*  2021 - 2022  C. Rudge
 1969  J.B. Trainor*  2022 - Current  M. Iscaro

Honorary Life Members

 Mr B.S. Adcock  Mrs J. Mitchell
 Mrs G. Racine  Mrs F. Lo Schiavo
 Mr K. Beard  Mr S.D. Pattie  Mr I. Sullivan  Mr C. Rudge
 Mr W. Bradfield *  Mr N. Plever  Mr J.B. Trainor *  Mr K. Black
 Mr R. Brown  Mr V. Lo Schiavo  Mr T. B. Tregaskis *  Ms L. Richmond
 Mr A. Cavill  Mr P. Vlahos  Mr D.H. Walker *  Mr D. Harding
 Dr B. Clark  Mr J. Pollock  Mr R. Ward  Mrs A. Williams
 Mr A.E. Coombs  Dr B.J. Poppleton *  Mr J. White

 Ms L. Richmond

 Mr E. Gainsford
 Dr A. Prentice  Mr L.T. Whitney *  Mr D. Harding
 Mr K. Le Marquand  Mr P. Gardiner  Mr G. Salter  Mr B. Cleland
 Mr M. Justice      

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software